Help! Babies Jumping out of NEST!

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts

I had one pair nesting and 2 chicks. One of the chicks jumped out very prematurely and was found dead. THe other is now jumping out of the nest and cannot fly yet. I have put it back 5 times now and it still keeps jumping out. THe parents won't feed it while on the ground. I'm in Houston and its very HOT here now and I have been giving the chick little water with a syringe twice a day. At least its smart enough to get outa the sun but I am worried that a preditor may get it. What am I to do?

I'm a noob, but I've read that a mite infestation causes premature fledging.

Ian

Have you checked your nests for mites? That can be a reason that he is jumping out of the nest. If you have mites, put a little sevin dust (5%) (1/4 tsp) around the inside of the entrance.a Depending on his age, you might want to do a nest change and/or put a little sevin under the nest.

Someone else who has martins may come along and give you some better advice. Hpefully they will see your post soon so you can save that little fellow.

Good luck,

Lanell

Lanell

Thanks for your responses. Yes I have checked the nest and NO mites!! I put the chick back in the nest nightly for the past several days and the parents always come back in the morning. I just hope they are feeding it. I don't really know however. I am concerned that he may be getting weak. What do people do in this situation.

I know that ther are many journeymen PM raisers out there and am wondering why I am getting little response? A little advise to what I should do would be appreciated. Should I buy a cage and raise him until he can go on his own. If so , how and what do I feed him?

Thanks

Hey Laverne - awe some good advice here! Where are you? :lol:

Lanell