Arrival dates - causes?

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
Brad Biddle

I hope I can explain my question, so that it makes sense. What causes the arrival times to vary from one colony to the next? It can’t be age of colony and here’s why I say that. Just up the road, a half mile from my house is a colony that’s been there for over 30 years. I know for sure it’s been there that long because I dated the guys niece in high school and he had them then. I graduated 31 years ago....

His colony has approximately 32 natural gourds. Crescent entrances. He’s pretty much full up every year. I don’t ever remember seeing Martins at his colony before early to mid March.

My colony started 17 years ago, since at least the 4th year has had arrivals back, averaging Feb 13th. I do have more gourds total but my colony is actually 2 colonies. One with 48 gourds and one with 54 gourds, so they aren’t much larger than his.

While waiting on my Martins to return this year I studied the scout report. I looked at 2 other sites that I know the landlords and while they both had arrivals this year before I did, in most years theirs didn’t return until March either.

It just seems odd that even though I typically have retuning Martins in mid February, that others around me who have been doing this as long or longer than I have, don’t get them back until early to mid March.

Thoughts?
Martin landlord since 2003. Currently offering 132 plastic gourds with tunnels and all SREH.
Rafke77
Martin Colony History: 2020 first arrived 3/27. 21 pair, 92 fledged, 9 non viable.

2019 first time with Martin's, first arrived 4/24 10 pair, 24 fledged, 15 eggs non-viable.