How dark should nest cavities be?

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
BradO
Martin Colony History: 2019- Several large groups stopped and visited.
2020- 2 pair seemed interested but left after 2 weeks, daily visits since first week of June from neighboring birds.

Newbie here. Year number two. I'm a 1/4 mile from water and have fields and pasture directly behind my houses. Had three large groups stay around a few days last year on their way passing through. Most ASY, a few SY, some pairs and some singles. But none stayed or nested. This year I added another house. After finding all the good info on your site I think I have figured out most of the things I had wrong. Both of my houses are S&K. I know they are not the best houses. Thought I would see if I could get birds before I spent a small fortune. I expanded the cavities. Painted exteriors all white and added perches on top that run full length. Even added an S&K 6 gourd rack with porches on each gourd. This past two weeks I have had lots of activity. A few SY pairs inside the houses checking things out spending the better part of the last week. Even had one ASY male hanging around. I have mudded the porches and openings. Added spruce needles for nesting material, instead of pine, because that's what I have available. I have a lot of activity between 7 AM and 10 AM. Had some stay around almost all day. It seems as if some of the SY pairs are not around as much and I just have a nice rest stop for them duing the mid morning hours. The only thing I can figure that might still not be to their liking is I am using the S&K SREH plugs that are made of white plastic and let quite a bit of light in the cavity. I plugged all the holes that face away on the back side since I expanded the cavities by taking out the knock out section in the middle. I can see the light passing through the plug on the backside when I look into the entrance hole. If that isn't bothering them, maybe it's my t